Legal Structure

The Sir James Henderson British School of Milan Association is a not-for-profit organisation whose objective is to make available high quality British education in Milan. Members and owners of the association are all parents of the students - each family can have up to 2 memberships.

The British School of Milan Srl is a commercial entity responsible for all the teaching activity. The Srl was established in 2001. The Association owns 100% of the Srl. The Srl is its operating company.

Governance of the School

The School is governed by a Board of Governors and follows best practice as far as the governance of a British independent school is concerned. The School's Principal and CEO attends all the Board meetings, including committee and full board meetings. The Board currently consists of:

  • eight parent-elected governors – just over half of the total Board
  • two ex-officio governors – the British Consul General in Milan and the President of the British Chamber of Commerce for Italy
  • three independent governors – including two heads of British schools.

Together the Board brings a range of experience and skills to the governance of the School and focuses on strategic development.

The ex-oficio and independent governors provide a valuable input to the governance of the School and reinforce ties with British institutions both locally and internationally.

Just as the School as a whole is subject to regular inspection by the Independent Schools Inspectorate(ISI), so too governance of the School is subject to scrutiny by external bodies including the ISI and the Association of Governing Bodies of Independent Schools (AGBIS) as well as several associations of which the School is a member, namely the HMC (Headmasters’ and Headmistresses’ Conference) and COBIS (Council of British International Schools).

school crest

Brief Biographies of Board Members

IB Results British School
Best IGCSE Results in Milan
International Entry to Top Universities

Read More

Young boy at desk
World-Class Teaching and Learning
two young boys running on track. one boy jumping in joy
UK Trained and Qualified Staff
young boy swimming
100+ After-School Activities


students from over 40 countries
Students From Over 40 Countries
boy and girl young student holding up trophy
Creating Leaders
two girl students working on project on floor
The Only Not-For-Profit British School in Milan

Learn More

creative dancing students
Inspiring Creativity
students singing
Caring & International Community

To contact the Chair of Governors, please write an email care of the Board Secretary: